[Skip to Content]
Ontario Arts Council (OAC)
Grants Advanced Search
Grants Advanced Search


Shoshana Wasser

Associate Director of Public Affairs and Communications
Toll-free in Ontario: 1-800-387-0058

Peterborough Symphony Orchestra receives the Vida Peene Orchestra Award

March 29, 2022

The Peterborough Symphony Orchestra (PSO) is the recipient of the Vida Peene Orchestra Award from the Ontario Arts Council (OAC). The $5,000 award will be presented during their As the Sun Rises concert, taking place at Showplace Performance Centre in Peterborough on Saturday, April 2 at 2:30 p.m.


About the Peterborough Symphony Orchestra

  • The PSO was founded in 1967 by music director and conductor Klement Hambourg and the members of the Peterborough Chamber Orchestra. It has been a cultural touchstone for the Peterborough-Kawartha area for more than 50 years.
  • The core of the PSO is approximately 40 volunteer community players based in the Peterborough and Kawartha regions, who come from all walks of life. Orchestra sections are led by professional musicians, and the group as a whole is led by music director and conductor Michael Newnham.
Peterborough Symphony Orchestra
(Photo: Huw Morgan)
  • The orchestra presents concerts five times a season (running from October through May) at Showplace Performance Centre in Peterborough. It also performs at local community events and festivals.
  • The PSO has an education and outreach program to share music experiences outside of regular concerts. The musicians, music director, staff and volunteers visit area schools, lead an intermediate band festival, and promote orchestral music and composition at community events throughout the year.


About the Vida Peene Orchestra Award

  • The Vida Peene Orchestra Award is given out biennially to assist Ontario orchestras. The OAC administers the jury process for this award.
  • Vida Peene was a Hamilton-based arts patron whose remarkable legacy continues to support the arts in Ontario and Canada.
  • The award alternates between professional and community-based orchestras. Past recipients include the National Youth Orchestra of Canada (2019) and the Georgian Bay Symphony (2017). See the full list of previous laureates.