[Skip to Content]
Ontario Arts Council (OAC)
Grants Advanced Search
Grants Advanced Search


Shoshana Wasser

Associate Director of Public Affairs and Communications
Toll-free in Ontario: 1-800-387-0058

Eighth Annual Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts

September 16, 2014

Ontario celebrated the winners of the 2014 Premier's Awards for Excellence in the Arts at a gala event at Roy Thomson Hall this evening.

The annual awards program honours Ontario's outstanding artists and arts organizations.

Lee Maracle, a critically acclaimed poet, novelist, performance storyteller and scriptwriter, is the winner of the Individual Artist Award. Maracle is currently a Traditional Teacher at the University of Toronto's First Nations House and an instructor at the Centre for Indigenous Theatre.

Le Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario won the Arts Organization Award. The professional theatre company focuses on contemporary works from playwrights and artists from Ontario and across Canada and has been developing noteworthy contemporary theatre for over 40 years.

The Emerging Artist of the Year award went to Cheri Dimaline, an author of two books of literary fiction. She is also a magazine editor and community development consultant for Canadian Indigenous communities.

Read the press release