[Skip to Content]
Ontario Arts Council (OAC)
Grants Advanced Search
Grants Advanced Search


Shoshana Wasser

Associate Director of Public Affairs and Communications
Toll-free in Ontario: 1-800-387-0058

Julie Title receives 2021 Colleen Peterson Songwriting Award

September 23, 2021

Musician Julie Title is this year’s recipient of the Ontario Arts Council (OAC)’s Colleen Peterson Songwriting Award for her song "Ghost." The award will be presented on Saturday, September 25, during Folk Music Ontario (FMO)’s virtual Awards Weekend.


About Julie Title

Julie Title performing with a guitar
  • Julie Title is a Toronto-based folk singer-songwriter. Her musical style is influenced by 1970s folk, as well as the wave of confessional women songwriters she grew up with in the 1990s, such as Aimee Mann and Mazzy Star.
  • Julie’s original music has been featured on the ABC TV show The Fosters, as well as the CBC drama Burden of Truth. Her songs are regularly featured on the SiriusXM program North Americana, as well as on CBC Radio and roots stations across Canada, the U.S. and the U.K.
  • Julie is releasing singles – including "Ghost" – leading up to the reveal of her first full-length album. Recorded with other Toronto musicians, it touches on themes surrounding heartbreak and healing.
  • Another single from the upcoming album, "A Wreath to Lay," has been praised as “lucid and poetic ... open-ended and timeless” (Music Mecca) and “familiar and inventive at the same time” (Lefuturewave).


About the Colleen Peterson Songwriting Award

  • The Colleen Peterson Songwriting Fund was established at the Ontario Arts Council in 2003 by Peterson’s sister, Shirley Richardson, and her friend, singer-songwriter Laura Bird.
  • The annual $1,000 award honours Peterson’s contribution to Canadian music by supporting and promoting the work of Ontario-resident emerging singer-songwriters in the roots, traditional, folk and country genres.
  • Nominations are received from FMO’s Songs From the Heart competition. FMO also assembles the jury that chooses the award winner. This year’s jury consisted of Trish Bolechowsky (Ottawa), Melanie Kealey (Ottawa) and Donné Roberts (Toronto).
  • Previous winners include Danielle Knibbe (2020), Suzanne Jarvie (2019) and Lora Bidner (2018). Click here for a full list of past recipients.