[Skip to Content]
Ontario Arts Council (OAC)
Grants Advanced Search
Grants Advanced Search


Shoshana Wasser

Associate Director of Public Affairs and Communications
Toll-free in Ontario: 1-800-387-0058

Theatre Designer Karyn McCallum Receives 2014 Pauline McGibbon Award

June 13, 2014

Karyn McCallum is the recipient of the 2014 Pauline McGibbon Award. It was presented at the Dora Mavor Moore Awards news conference at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts on June 2nd, 2014.

About Karyn McCallum

  • Over the past decade, Karyn McCallum has designed for theatres all across Canada, ranging from major regional theatres to small experimental theatre cooperatives.
  • Her recent design credits include Leading Ladies (Persephone Theatre, Saskatoon), Flesh and Other Fragments of Love (Tarragon Theatre, Toronto), Henry and Alice (Theatre North West, Prince George, B.C.) The Secret Mask (Great Canadian Theatre Company, Ottawa), A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Canadian Stage, Toronto) and Creation (National Arts Centre, Ottawa).
  • Karyn holds an MFA in Theatre Design from the University of Victoria and a BA in Visual Art and Theatre from Brock University. She has taught in the theatre programs at Ryerson University, The University of Victoria and Brock University.


“Karyn is the embodiment of the future of design,” remarked the jury. “A collaborative artist with a strong knowledge of technology, she has a remarkable breadth of skills and is great at imparting knowledge. She is both precise and passionate, producing work that is beautifully elegant in its simplicity.”

About the Pauline McGibbon Award

  • Established in 1981, the award honours former Lieutenant Governor Pauline McGibbon for her support and patronage of the arts. It includes a $7,000 prize and a medal designed by Dora de Pédery-Hunt.
  • The award is presented to a member of Ontario’s professional theatre community in the early stages of his or her career who has displayed a unique talent and a potential for excellence.
  • The award is cyclical in nature and recognizes the unique talents of artists who have contributed to the well-being of Ontario’s theatre community. The first year of the three-year cycle, the award goes to a designer, the second year to a director, and the third year to a production craftsperson.

Learn More